2009 Harold Taylor Nominees

Professional Organizers in Canada (POC) recently announced the nominees for this year’s Harold Taylor Award, which was created in 2001 to recognize outstanding individual contribution, guidance and direction to the organizing profession and the association.

Estelle Gee receiving Harold Taylor Award 2005

Every year, POC members are invited to nominate the member whom they feel best exemplifies the mission of POC, and who by their actions has made a significant contribution to the field of organizing. The nominations are reviewed by a volunteer committee who then selects the winner. Past recipients are Harold Taylor, Margaret Miller, Karen Sencich & Laurene Livesey-Park, Hellen Buttigieg, Estelle Gee (pictured above), Morva Bowman, Debra Milne, and Donna Campbell. Having known every one of these individuals, I can testify as to the level of hard work and dedication that a member must put forth to receive this honor.

I’m not familiar with all of this year’s nominees, but I do know most of them, and I can see that the selection committee members will have their work cut out for them! Please join me in congratulating Carolyn Caldwell, Kerri Lewin, Linda Chu, Michelle Nichols, Kristie Demke, Colette Robichaud, Alex Fayle, Alexandra Ross, Joel-Marc Golberg, Christa Wagner, Steve Ilott, Jane Woolsey, and Soraiya Kara.

The winner will be announced and the award presented at the POC Annual Conference Gala Dinner in Calgary this November.

A former professional organizer, I’m now a Web Designer and Care Plan Specialist. I love helping others succeed by sharing the knowledge and insight I’ve gained through marketing my own business for over 15 years! When I’m away from my desk, I enjoy reading, photography, watching movies, and cooking.

Facebook Twitter   


  1. I sat on the nominating committee a few ago. It was one of the more difficult tasks I had taken on. Not because of the amount of work that was involved, but because of the decision we had to make.
    The year I was on the committee, there were several GREAT candidates nominated. We SO wanted to award them all but we had to choose just one.
    I don’t envy the committee this year. The candidates are amazing and each has contributed positively to the industry in SO many ways. Congrats to all of them on their nomination. Their hard work deserves to be recognized.
    .-= Jacki Hollywood Brown´s last blog ..Fishing Lures & Snowblowers =-.

  2. Jacki, I can image that would be quite the challenge, and I assume the decision has to be based on the information submitted rather than your own knowledge of the candidates. Maybe a post on how to write an effective nomination letter would be helpful…
    .-= Janet Barclay´s last blog ..2009 Harold Taylor Nominees =-.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.