jb-logo

Where professional organizers learn and connect

  • jb-logo

    Your Organizing Business

    Where professional organizers learn and connect

Reviewing the Website Planning Process

Planning a Website the Organized Way: Reviewing the Website Planning Process

The Planning a Website the Organized Way series started over two months ago, on August 5th.

If you’ve been reading along and working through the steps, congratulations – you’re ready to begin implementing your website plan!

Maybe you’re joining us for the first time today, or completing the homework wasn’t a priority for you at the time. For your benefit, here’s a handy list of all the posts in the series.

There are 19 steps to planning a website the organized way.Click To Tweet
  1. Developing a Plan for Your Website
  2. Creating Your Business Profile
  3. Identifying Your Target Market
  4. Defining Your Website’s Objective
  5. Outlining Your Website Content
  6. Organizing Your Website Structure
  7. Establishing Your Business Brand
  8. Choosing Your Color Palette
  9. Selecting the Typography for Your Website
  10. Sourcing Website Images and other Media
  11. Gathering Design Inspiration
  12. Comparing WordPress Themes
  13. Signing on with a Web Hosting Company
  14. Registering Your Domain Name
  15. Preparing for the Future of Your Website
  16. Driving Traffic to Your Website
  17. Connecting with Your Website Visitors
  18. Drafting Your Contact Page
  19. Working out the Details

It’s a lot to think about, isn’t it!

Website planning takes time and commitment, but breaking it down into these steps will make it much easier for you to have the site of your dreams.

If a new website is in your future, let’s talk! I’d love to help you make your ideas come to life.

Categories

Tags

Disclosure

This page may contain affiliate links, which means I may get paid commission on sales of those products or services I write about. My editorial content is not influenced by advertisers or affiliate partnerships.

Read my full Disclosure Policy

Gravatar mystery man

A former professional organizer, I'm now a Website Design and Care Specialist. I love helping others succeed by sharing the knowledge and insight I’ve gained through marketing my own business for over 15 years! When I’m away from my desk, I enjoy reading, photography, watching movies, and cooking.

Gravatar mystery man

A former professional organizer, I'm now a Website Design and Care Specialist. I love helping others succeed by sharing the knowledge and insight I’ve gained through marketing my own business for over 15 years! When I’m away from my desk, I enjoy reading, photography, watching movies, and cooking.

21 Comments

  1. Avatar Seana Turner on October 9, 2015 at 9:54 am

    I’ve added a number of items from your series onto my “business to do” list. Thanks for walking people through the steps in a logical way!

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on October 10, 2015 at 6:56 am

      I’m so happy to have inspired you – your posts often have the same effect on me!

  2. Avatar Sabrina Quairoli on October 9, 2015 at 10:58 am

    Wow! That is wonderful! I love that you included these posts all in one post so visitors can go through each post to help them set up their small business website. Small business owners get so overwhelmed with this process. I will share this with my small business clients and followers! Thanks.

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on October 10, 2015 at 6:57 am

      Thank you, Sabrina! I appreciate your support and am glad to have created something of value to others.

  3. Avatar Autumn Leopold ( on October 9, 2015 at 12:50 pm

    Janet disregard this part my LinkedIn message I wrote it before I saw this post! Excellent! I was going to ask you for a post like this to use on my reference page! Thank you! Thank you! I truly wish I had this resource when I launched my business.

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on October 10, 2015 at 6:59 am

      I wrote this series partly so I could better guide my clients through the process, making life easier for both parties. I’ll be delighted if you include this on your reference page.

  4. Avatar Ellen Delap on October 9, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    What an amazing list of step by step successful ways to be sure your website is what you want!

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on October 10, 2015 at 7:00 am

      Thanks, Ellen! It was intended as a tool for people planning a new website or website makeover, but I’m thrilled that it’s also inspired some readers to review their current site and make improvements.

  5. Avatar Regina Sanchez on October 9, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    Janet this is incredibly powerful. You put a ton of work into this and it shows. It’s a wealth of information. Thank you.

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on October 10, 2015 at 7:01 am

      Thank you so much, Regina! You have no idea how much that means to me.

  6. Avatar Sarah Soboleski on October 10, 2015 at 9:02 am

    I love this detailed compilation! You covered all the bases and it’s all in one location. I will be referencing this often as I make changes and updates to my site. Thank you, thank you!!

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on October 10, 2015 at 9:17 am

      As the series progressed, I knew I’d have to create a “table of contents” so I’m glad it’s going to be a useful reference for you. You’re welcome! 🙂

  7. Avatar Hazel Thornton on October 10, 2015 at 9:13 am

    I don’t know which I like better: This comprehensive list of things to consider when creating/upgrading ones’ website. Or, knowing that if I don’t feel like doing one (or more) of the steps, I can ask you to help me! 🙂

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on October 10, 2015 at 9:17 am

      It’s okay if you want to like them both equally. 🙂

  8. Liana George Liana George on October 10, 2015 at 9:17 am

    Janet what a wonderful and helpful series – for both beginners and those of us who’ve been on the journey awhile! I’ve shared it with several new organizers who are trying to get their websites up and running as I know it is a wealth of information! Thanks for all you do 🙂

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on October 10, 2015 at 9:18 am

      I appreciate that, Liana – thank you!

  9. Avatar Linda Samuels on October 10, 2015 at 11:31 am

    Hi Janet-

    I remember when I redesigned my ohsoorganized.com website several years ago and the MANY steps and decisions. I don’t remember counting them, but I’m sure there were a lot. I like how you’ve broken down the process to make it less overwhelming. These types of projects can be especially overwhelming because of the time involved. And when we’re busy doing many other things, finding the time to design or redesign websites can be challenging.

    One of the most useful things for me was gathering my support team to help me create the website I wanted. I couldn’t have done it alone. I wrote a post about the process, sharing another perspective about the website redesign process.

  10. Avatar Tiffany on December 31, 2015 at 4:30 pm

    Great series of posts! Can I just tell you how wonderful it is to come across a blog where the author operates based on organization? For those that organization comes naturally to, it is a way of thinking that comes across in everything we do and especially the way thoughts are formed for writing and training material. It is very easy for me to learn and absorb the information provided on your site because you educate in the same way that I think naturally!

    • Avatar Janet Barclay on January 1, 2016 at 9:11 am

      Thanks so much, Tiffany! It was actually quite eye-opening for me to put the information together in this way, and I hope it will help a lot of people as they plan their new websites or website redesign projects.

Leave a Comment





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.